“A Balanced Diet is Chocolate in Both Hands”

15. Go to Hershey Park 

11745907_10153330007755860_3772757388946225105_n

And by “Hershey Park”, I didn’t realize I meant “Hershey’s Chocolate World”.

For a really long time, I’ve been wanting to go to Hershey, Pennsylvania. I remember seeing in my 7th grade yearbook that the 8th graders went there for the 8th grade trip and it looked like so much fun. However, when I was in 8th grade, Hershey and all of its attractions were no longer included in the itinerary. Ugh.

So, I wanted to go this year. I think I wanted to go last year too but had a hard time finding someone to drive the 5.5 hours with me. But, my friend Mary is down for definitely anything so I was very pleased when she agreed to come with me this year. It wasn’t our first vacation, it wasn’t our first weekend trip, but it was going to be our first road trip. I was pumped.

I planned our road trip on the app Roadtrippers, which Mel and I used when going to Niagara Falls this past November. I realized that it was Hershey’s Chocolate World, not Hershey Park, that I wanted to go to. I also realized, after my recent trip to Six Flags, (read about that here) that amusement parks just aren’t for me anything. What I really wanted to do was be surrounded by chocolate.

Mary and I’s trip from Easthampton, MA to Hershey, PA consisted of the following stops:

  1. Tom Thumb’s Grave (Fairfield, CT)
  2. World’s Largest Lightbulb (Edison, NJ)
  3. Crayola Experience (Easton, PA)
  4. Roadside America Miniature Village (Shartlesville, PA)
  5. Kristy’s Whistle Stop (Enola, PA)
  6. Hershey’s Chocolate World (Hershey, PA)

But this blog is about my summer goals, and since not all of those stops were on my summer goals list, I’m not going to go into detail on each of them (except the last one). We had so much fun at each of these though; I would expect nothing less traveling with Mary.

We spent Wednesday driving and stopping at stops 1-5. After the Whistle Stop, we checked into our hotel and chilled out with chocolate strawberry face masks and got some sleep for Hershey’s Chocolate World the next day.


THE NEXT DAY

We got up early for Chocolate World so we would arrive basically as soon as the doors open (9 AM). Driving through Hershey was adorable in itself; Kisses lamp posts, street names like Cocoa Drive, etc.

Finally, we arrived.

11100968_10153330013390860_1636617816815367680_n

And at the doors, “The Candy Man” from Willy Wonka was playing. It was so adorable and I was totally thrilled. Even from the outside it was everything I wanted.

The first thing we did, after taking pictures with a Twizzler girl and exploring a little, was go on the factory tour, which we were stoked to learn was free. We were even more excited to see that the tour was also a ride.

Us sitting in our little ride seat. Cart? What's it called? Buggy?

Us sitting in our little ride seat. Cart? What’s it called? Buggy?

The ride/tour had a lot of singing cows in it that told you how the chocolate is made.

The ride/tour had a lot of singing cows in it that told you how the chocolate is made.

After the tour, we bought tickets to two different activities: Create your Own Chocolate Bar and Chocolate Tasting Experience. The woman at the desk booked both of these right after the other so we would be done after 3 hours of being there and not have to pay for parking! Sweet. Literally. While we waiting for our event to start, we went shopping.

You're gonna love this Hershey's presents: bucket hats

You’re gonna love this Hershey’s presents: bucket hats

Our first event was the Chocolate Tasting Experience. We went into the big dark room and the tour guide (?) told us all about how to taste chocolate using all of your senses and that different people taste different things. There was also a short video that was both cute and annoying. We got 4 different chocolates to try and compare. Then, on a fancy iPad, we got to choose from a flavor wheel which flavors we tasted in the chocolate.

My work station. Bag (with different kinds of chocolate), water (to cleanse the palette), cacoa to try.

My work station. Bag (with different kinds of chocolate), water (to cleanse the palette), cacoa to try.

A wheel of flavor. Mary and I kept saying we were tasting things that definitely we're included in the chocolate. Mushroom was our favorite.

A wheel of flavor. Mary and I kept saying we were tasting things that definitely we’re included in the chocolate. Mushroom was our favorite.

After our tasting event, we ran over to the Create Your Own Chocolate Bar arena. We had too much fun during this.

First of all, you get to wear an apron and hairnet, even though you don't touch chocolate at all.

First of all, you get to wear an apron and hairnet, even though you don’t touch chocolate at all.

Then, again, you use a fancy iPad to select what kind of chocolate you want and what you want to be inside of it. Then, you go over to the production line to watch it be made.

Mary F with her chocolate bar in the back!

Mary F with her chocolate bar in the back!

Lucy and Ethel

Lucy and Ethel

Then, you got to design your label.

11752483_10153330029850860_8996043223462989858_n

I actually tried a bite of my chocolate bar today and along with looking really pretty it also tasted good (if I do say so myself).

We later did some more shopping and then we were back on the road.

Hershey’s Chocolate World was hella fun. We were almost always laughing at something or showing employees our glitter tattoos from Crayola Experience. If you ever get a chance, go! And make your own chocolate bar! And eat it!

Awesome friend, awesome road trip! We’re already planning our next one!

Thanks,

Samantha

One thought on ““A Balanced Diet is Chocolate in Both Hands”

  1. Pingback: “Feet, What do I Need You For When I Have Wings to Fly?” | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

