“One in a Million, My Lucky Strike”

17. Teach a class I haven’t taught before at Jazzercise

11261793_10153289441250860_4386441779149653393_n

Every year for my summer goals list, I try to include something Jazzercise-related. One year I biked all the way to class, another year I learned every single routine from the new DVD we get from corporate.

I’ve been teaching Jazzercise since 2011 (whoa) when I was freshly 20 years old. A lot has changed since then; I moved studios, we’ve gotten new instructors and customers, AND in January of this year, we had a rebranding which I LOVE. The new changes in the beginning of the year really pumped me up and I was more proud than ever to be an instructor.

Along with the new logo, The New Jazzercise introduced NEW classes. New, new, new! Jazzercise now has 12 different types of classes! They are…

  1. Dance Mixx
  2. Interval
  3. Fusion
  4. Core
  5. Strike
  6. Strength 45
  7. Strength 60
  8. Express
  9. Personal Touch
  10. Junior Jazzercise
  11. Lo
  12. Lite

**If you want more info on what any of these consist of, click HERE!**

I mostly teach Dance Mixx classes and have done a few Interval classes, Fusion classes, and I used to teach Strength 60 every Saturday afternoon. I decided that for my summer goals list, I would teach a new class that I have never taught before.

I decided I would teach a Strike class, which is a kickboxing class. Jazzercise.com says:

Strike hits cardio and muscles hard for maximum impact. Jab and kick your way through sweaty, pumping music mixes that end with a muscle blast. Knock out fat and stress and release your endorphins. Calories don’t stand a chance.

I love kickboxing routines a lot and I thought it’d be a good way to jab out some stress I’ve been having lately. I went on the instructor message board (which has been a lifesaver to me many times) and asked for some advice about teaching Strike classes. Instructors from around the world told me that all of the routines (with the exception of the warm-up, cool-down, and strength section) need at least one kickboxing move. I was pumped, but then I realized that I didn’t know enough kickboxing routines to do a whole 60-minute class.

So I got to work. I learned 3 brand new routines, all that feature a kickboxing move. In the end, I had an awesome set. Juicy Wiggle, Mr. Put it Down, Masterpiece, Geronimo (some of my new favorites) were all included and I was stoked for class.

I taught the Strike class Friday at my 5:40 PM class. The customers looked like they were having an awesome time and after class we took some STRIKE-ingly beautiful photos:

11241431_10153289441350860_2381008238386196943_n

11232127_10153289441295860_2122941897430850164_n

I loved the new format and I’m excited to teach more of the new formats! Sorry this post sounded a little like a huge advertisement for Jazzercise, I just really love it that much.

For more information on the studio:

Website

Facebook

Instagram: jazzercisestudio116

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

