“You Can Feel it All Over”

26. Go to the Platinum Pony

11138500_10153248422055860_844603000910992230_n

I’ve been wanting to go to this new Easthampton establishment for a while. Originally it was Popcorn Noir, a tiny movie theater that revealed the titles to its showings only to members; everyone else only got the year the film came out and one clue. The movie was free as long as you bought some popcorn. I loved it. The food was amazing and the space was great. One time my pal Axel had a web series premiere party there complete with red carpet.

Platinum Pony came in 2014. According to its Facebook page, it…

is a bar and restaurant that celebrates the eccentric and unusual, queer and colorful. It’s a weird and wonderful world of glitter and glam, movies and mayhem, damn good food, and ponies of all shapes and sizes in Easthampton, MA. 

It also has an eventful calendar and a outdoor patio. I had to check it out.

I had planned on going this Saturday for a party, however, last Sunday my buddy Alex told me there was a BBQ there on the patio. I decided to take my cousin, Miriam, who was visiting from California, and her fiancé Charlie, thinking it would be a good, funky Western Mass spot. We had already ate, but we went to the BBQ anyway.

When we got there, we were warmly greeted by the bartender, Sally, who was informative, funny, and so sweet. She hooked us up with champagne ON TAP, wine, beer from local breweries, and some rummy-apicroty drink that I loved called Tattoo Time.

Sally getting us some yummy drinks.

Sally getting us some yummy drinks.

Charlie and his Dirty Girl IPA from Abandoned Building Brewery

Charlie and his Dirty Girl IPA from Abandoned Building Brewery

Sally let us walk around and check out the place. We found the projector and screen still there from the Popcorn Noir days. There was a stage in front of it, swanky tables and chairs, a small game where you try to get a ring around a unicorn’s horn, and a kissing booth.

Miriam in the kissing booth.

Miriam in the kissing booth.

We then had our drinks on the patio.

View from the patio

View from the patio

Miriam and I

Miriam and I

Sally came out and told us that a party had come in and asked to do karaoke. We kind of invited ourselves in to join them, which they were totally cool with. I loved that the people at the Pony were very okay with this group coming in and doing karaoke, just off of Youtube, without any notice. Very cool.

11412276_10153248422500860_8567380191565652674_n

Unfortunately, my night had to end early because I had to work the next day, so I said good-bye after Miriam convinced me to get a Platinum Pony t-shirt (no regrets).

Tonight, I went back! Nate, Melissa, Axel, and I went to trivia, their first in a while, after we decided we were sick of going to the place we usually go to. It was so fun, laid back, and then after, they let us do karaoke!

Nate (the winner of trivia) and Mel

Nate (the winner of trivia) and Mel

The gang

The gang

Mel and Axel after trivia

Mel and Axel after trivia

The Platinum Pony is SO fun. If you check a chance, join us for trivia there on Tuesdays from 7-9!

Sorry this post was kind of lazy. I am very tired. Goodnight world!

Thanks,

Samantha

More info on Platinum Pony:

Platinum Pony Website

Platinum Pony Facebook Page

One thought on ““You Can Feel it All Over”

Leave a Reply

