“Yay for Nature”

#4) Get A in Class

Picture 1

Since being at my current university I’ve been having to do something I never thought I would ever do: take summer classes. I never ever ever wanted to do summer classes because, as you know, I cherish my summers and don’t want to waste them by doing any sort of work. I took a summer class two years ago, last year, and decided -yes, IT WAS MY CHOICE– to do one this year.

Let’s back up. Two summers ago I took a summer online literature class that I adored. Last year, my friend Lauren and I took another summer class which was the bane of our entire existence and the bulk of our life complaints (the blog post about it along with Lauren’s hilarious review of that class is here: https://summertimegoals.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/if-i-had-to-describe-that-online-class-in-emojis-it-would-be-this/). This summer, I didn’t need anymore classes at all, but decided to take one anyway – one that would take me to Costa Rica.

I mentioned this class already in my post for Goal #5: Get a Tan in Costa Rica (https://summertimegoals.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/lately-youve-been-tan-suspicious-for-the-winter/). Basically, before our meeting, I had no idea what this class would entail but I signed up anyway knowing I’d be going to Costa Rica and working at a school. Other than that, I had no idea how much work it would entail or anything else. So, I thought I’d add “Get an A” to my list (as I do every year that I take a summer class). The class ran May 20 – June 2.

The course, I think, was the perfect amount of work. We did do a lot but I was never stressed out (Pura Vida!) Here are some pictures of me doing work (proof, if you will):

I did a report on sunlight in the rain forest (photo by Shannon)

I did a report on sunlight in the rain forest! (photo by Shannon)

I helped illustrate a children's book! (photo by Colleen)

I helped illustrate a children’s book! (photo by Colleen)

I taught second grade P.E.!

I taught second grade P.E.!

I learned so much about birds!

I learned so much about birds!

And bugs! (photo by Jess P.)

And bugs! (photo by Jess P.)

And fruits! (photo by Meghan)

And fruits! (photo by Meghan)

And nature in general! (photo by Lauren)

And nature in general! (photo by Lauren)

 

We also did a lot of recreational things that I found to be completely and utterly exhausting (work), like:

Making tortilla!

Making tortilla!

Ziplining!

Ziplining!

Horseback riding! (photo by Ashley)

Horseback riding! (photo by Ashley)

Soccer! (photo by Ashley)

Soccer! (photo by Ashley)

Grinding cacao! (photo by Ashley)

Grinding cacao! (photo by Ashley)

There was also a day where we planted trees. It was easily Top 10 most exhausting days in my 23 years. There are no pictures of that, thankfully.

 

Getting an A in this class was easy because I loved everything we did even though I was completely out of my comfort zone for the majority of it. I still have to create my scrapbook for it, but that will be fun. Lauren agrees that it was way better than our online computer class last year. Lauren had this to say about our Costa Rica class:

"Diddy" being our bus driver who said he would miss us "mucho".    :,)

“Diddy” being our bus driver who said he would miss us “mucho”. :,)

I miss Costa Rica so much, promise me you’ll go if you get the chance to.

 

Thanks,

Samantha

One thought on ““Yay for Nature”

  1. Pingback: "Yay for Nature"

Leave a Reply

