“Life was Beginning Over Again with the Summer”

#9) Read The Great Gatsby

Photo 445

Last summer (whoa. Seems like yesterday) me and my friends Grace, Alex, and Mike went to the drive-in movie theater. One of the films we saw was Pacific Rim but I hardly paid attention, mostly because I was thinking so much about the film we saw prior, The Great Gatsby. I loved everything about it, but I remember being mad about the ending. The soundtrack was incredible, the acting was fantastic, and I just loved the story.

I remember Mike telling me that he had read it in high school and I think Alex and Grace had to read it too. I did not. I didn’t even know what it was about before seeing the movie. After seeing the movie, I decided to read the book, not only because I wanted to, but because I felt like I had to.

After about 9 months of thinking about the film and wanting to read the book, I saw an article on BuzzFeed called  “23 Books You Didn’t Read In High School But Actually Should” (http://www.buzzfeed.com/spenceralthouse/23-books-you-didnt-read-in-high-school-but-actually-should). The article is pretty clever; it explains why you should actually read the books you were assigned to read in high school but instead chose to Spark Note. In my case, however, the article was more like “23 Books You Didn’t Read in High School Because They Weren’t Assigned But You Actually Should Read”. In my high school, I only had to read a few of the books on the list:

1) To Kill A Mockingbird (But the screenplay…Not the novel. Not sure why.)

2) The Catcher in the Rye (Remains one of my favorites)

3) Of Mine and Men (Ugh)

4) Beowulf (Hated it)

5) Their Eyes Were Watching God (I only remember the video me, Mary, Nick, Cody, and Alex did for it)

There were some things on the list that I had read for my own enjoyment or in college but out of the 23, only those 5 we had to read in high school.

The #1 book on that list? The Great Gatsby.

So this summer, I decided to put The Great Gatsby on my summer reading list.

I went to Barnes and Nobel, picked up a copy, and went to town. I brought it with me on my Costa Rica trip, reading a lot of it for part of the 6 hour flight and reading some of it in my room at Rancho Margot.

I finished it on the flight home, my head rested on Brian’s shoulder.

Did I love the book? Absolutely. F. Scott Fitzgerald was an incredible author and his words are so beautiful. I think everyone should read this book, but I don’t think they should HAVE to in high school solely because they might not appreciate it if it’s something they have to do. Read it if you haven’t! You won’t regret it.

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

