“Beer is Proof That God Loves us and Wants us to be Happy”

#6: Try all 105 beers on tap at McLadden’s (10/105)

20140514_220713

A few years ago, McLadden’s Irish Publick House opened it’s doors and pleased all young college-aged people like myself. Awesome atmosphere, fun employees, good Irish food, and right in downtown Northampton. The best thing about McLadden’s, some might argue, is the 105 beers on tap.

Now, I don’t typically like beer. But this might be because mostly the only beers I’m familar with are Bud Lites and the like. When Mary worked at Sam Adams, I started to get into that. Nate and I went to visit her and took a tour and the guide showed us how to taste beer (in 5 easy steps!) and I started to appreciate it more and want to try new and better beers than PBR.

I added this goal because I want to try better beers and what better place to do it than McLadden’s? This is probably the most challenging of my goals, which is why I’m going to blog about it in parts. This post is only the first 10 beers I’ve tried. The next post about this goal will be the next 10 beers, and so on.

When I go to McLadden’s, I order a beer. Four of the bartenders know about this goal/blog (one of them calling me “105 Beer Girl”), and they help me achieve this goal by giving me the beer I order and then a sample of a different kind. They tell me the number (out of 105) and some wait to hear my take on it. I write it down in my phone, and my notes get funnier and funnier the more beers I have. My friends also generously let me try a sip of theirs and that also counts. As long as I try it, I’m good.

Also, Axel had a great idea of me rating the beers. I rate them 1-5, 5 being the best.

So, without further ado, the first 10 beers I’ve had at McLadden’s:

MY BEER NUMBER: 1/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 70

NAME: MOA PALE ALE

NOTES: Nice. I think it might be hoppy. Yes, the bartender, Karl, said it is “moderately hoppy”

RATING: 4/5

PICTURE:

Myself with the Moa and a random Northamptonite, Eli.

Myself with the Moa and a random Northamptonite, Eli.

MY BEER NUMBER: 2/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 93

NAME: HELL OR HIGH WATERMELON

NOTES: This was Bianca’s drink. She called it “Hella Highmore” accidently. Tastes clean. I believe this is also the same drink Mary ordered last night; she thought it tasted like sewer, though.

RATING: 4/5

PICTURE:

Watermelon?!

Watermelon?!

Me and Mary, Mary is holding the watermelon beer (and salt).

Me and Mary, Mary is holding the watermelon beer (and salt).

MY BEER NUMBER: 3/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 67

NAME: MOA BREAKFAST LAGER

NOTES: This doesn’t even taste like beer. I love it.

RATING: 5/5

PICTURE:

20140514_215312

Me, Melissa, and Eli

Me, Melissa, and Eli

 

MY BEER NUMBER: 4/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 92

NAME: ANDERSON VALLEY SUMMER SOLSTICE

NOTES: Oh wow. This is like alcoholic cream soda. It smells bitter, but tastes sweet like maple syrup.

RATING: 5/5

PICTURE:

20140514_221136

MY BEER NUMBER: 5/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 99

NAME: MURPHY’S (TRADITIONAL) IRISH STOUT

NOTES: I wrote down “mouth feel how it feels”; don’t know what that means. Silky smooth. Nitrogen, not carbonated. Bianca said it’s like iced coffee without the ice. Axel responded, “So cold coffee”. I didn’t like it.

RATING: 1/5

PICTURE:

I think this is the stout? Next time I'll organize the pictures on my phone better, sorry about it.

I think this is the stout? Next time I’ll organize the pictures on my phone better, sorry about it.

 

MY BEER NUMBER: 6/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 71

NAME: LINDEMANS FRAMBOISE LAMBIC

NOTES: Red. Tastes like absolute heaven. This is beer? It’s more like wine or juice. The bartender, Karl, said, “Imagine this with chocolate cake”. Bianca yelled in response “Wait! You have chocolate cake!?”. It’s bubbly and my new favorite. I think I officially like beer. Karl says it’s my gateway beer. It is now the beer I order every time I go out.

RATING: 6/5

PICTURE:

Bianca and I and raspberries

Bianca and I and raspberries

Oh baby, oh baby, oh baby.

Oh baby, oh baby, oh baby.

On the tap!

On the tap!

Please sir, may I have some more?

Please sir, may I have some more?

 

MY BEER NUMBER: 7/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 20

NAME: DIRTWOLF DOUBLE IPA FROM VICTORY BREWERY

NOTES: This tastes like Yankee Candle pine needles. I think it’s bitter. Bianca thinks it tastes like pumpkin. I think it tastes like double dirt boot. Melissa loves it so. Notes in my phone say: “Tastes like dungus meets bungus. It’s just bad. I’m Dr. Seuss”

RATING: 0/5

PICTURE:

Melissa and dirt.

Melissa and dirt.

 

MY BEER NUMBER: 8/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 73

NAME: HOEGAARDEN 

NOTES: Axel and I tried a sip and at the same time said “Lemony”. Bianca recommended this one and called it the “Lemon water of beers”. It’s bubbly. Melissa hates it and said, “I’d clean the floor with it, but I wouldn’t drink it”.

RATING: 4/5

PICTURE:

20140514_224300

20140514_224316

20140514_224935

MY BEER NUMBER: 9/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 49

NAME: SOUTHERN TIER CREME BRULE STOUT

NOTES: This beer belongs to a stranger. It’s pretty good, but I don’t really like stouts.

RATING: 3/5

PICTURE:

Creme Brule and it's owner who kindly allowed me to try some of his beer. Thank you, sir!

Creme Brule and it’s owner who kindly allowed me to try some of his beer. Thank you, sir!

MY BEER NUMBER: 10/105

NUMBER AT MCLADDEN’S: 32

NAME: CORONADO ORANGE AVENUE WIT

NOTES: This was a different night than the previous beers and Holly ordered it and let me try some. I thought it was really good!

RATING: 3/5

PICTURE:

Holly and Wit.

Holly and Wit.

So there’s the first 10 beers. Sorry if my descriptions are weird. Next 10 beers, coming up! (Starting with Atlantic Blueberry!)

Special thanks to Karl at McLadden’s for the help with the beers!

10453321_10152442102805860_3266861855697346576_n

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

