“Some are Sharp, Some are Pretty, Some are Dull”

# 21) Make my graduation cap

IMG_20140516_123909

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I was allowed to walk at this year’s graduation commencement due to my GPA and the fact that I only have practicum left. I went to the school store and bought my cap and gown ($$$) and realized that I’ve never been to a college graduation before. I didn’t know if graduates usually decorate their caps like we did when we graduated high school (when I graduated high school, I put lipstick on and kissed my cap all over to honor the fact that I won “Class Flirt” as a superlative).

But, I decided to decorate my college cap either way. I went on Pinterest and found a lot of cute ideas. I was seconds away from doing an Arrested Development cap, then a Jurassic Park cap, but then decided that my cap should reflect my major: Early Childhood Education.

Education caps on Pinterest are all pretty much the same. An apple. “Ms. _________”. Eh.

I saw one that had crayons on the perimeter on the cap and thought it looked adorable. It was perfect for Early Childhood Ed and it was perfect for future teachers who think the arts are important (like me).

But I wanted more crayons. I went to the Dollar Store and picked up like, 10 boxes of PlaySkool crayons and laid them out on my cap. Originally, I was going to cover the entire cap with crayons by just lining them up. But, my mom had the idea of doing a type of “sunburst”. After experimenting, I loved it.

It was simple. I just hot glued the crayons where I wanted them! I had to make sure no two colors were next to each other but other than that there was no method to my madness. Overall it took like, 10 minutes to make the cap. And it was a hit at graduation! One of my professors even wanted to take a picture of it.

My mom, my dad, and I.

My mom, my dad, and I.

I didn’t think I would end of decorated my cap because that time of year is usually very stressful and I didn’t think I would have time. But, I’m really glad I did it. I would say that if you’re thinking about what to do for your cap, look around the Internet but don’t do exactly what someone else has done. Make it your own!

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

