“Peace, Love, and Ice Cream”

#13: Go to the Ben and Jerry’s Factory

IMG_20140515_143419

Yesterday I crossed the first thing off this year’s list: Go to the Ben and Jerry’s Factory. There’s a ton of reasons why I wanted to go there this summer. For starters, I love ice cream, especially Ben and Jerry’s. My friends Miranda and Aaron had been there before, and after looking at their pictures I decided that it would be a really fun place to go in the summer. Plus, summer and ice cream go hand in hand.

I put the factory on my list when I found out that one of the co-creators of Ben and Jerry’s, Jerry Greenfield, would be speaking at my graduation commencement (which is tomorrow!). I wanted to learn more about the company before I heard him speak to my class. At graduation rehearsal last week, Jerry provided us with free ice cream (either Cookie Dough or Cherry Garcia)!

Free ice cream at rehearsal!

Free ice cream at rehearsal!

This was one of those goals that I wanted to do before a certain date; in this case, graduation. I didn’t have a ton of time from when finals were over to the day of the commencement. Still, I found a day to go and decided to bring with me Mark, a well-traveled lover of all things Phish (including Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food) and adventure.

Mark and I started our 3-hour journey somewhat late in the day, around 11 A.M. Stopping a few times for gas and food, we arrived in Waterbury, Vermont around 2 P.M. It was pretty easy to find and get to. I turned left to see the huge building on top of a hill. So exciting!

We parked and walked up the steps and despite the drizzle outside, the place seemed so colorful. It truly just looks like a happy place.

The little shack is for renting snow shoes during the winter.

The little shack is for renting snow shoes during the winter.

From the back.

From the back.

We followed the signs and went to the Flavor Graveyard where retired flavors are laid to rest. I loved reading the little poems on the graves for the flavors but was somewhat disappointed when I didn’t see Lauren’s old favorite, Kaberry Kaboom.

Entrance to the Flavor Graveyard

Entrance to the Flavor Graveyard

Graves of Devil's Food Chocolate, White Russian,  Economic Crunch, and Fresh Georgia Peach

Graves of Devil’s Food Chocolate, White Russian, Economic Crunch, and Fresh Georgia Peach

We then went inside to use the restrooms and check out the gift shop which had tons of Ben and Jerry’s memorabilia. We noticed there was a timeline of events outside and read that (which is also on their website) and other information about their beliefs and history. We then, of course, got ice cream. I got Coconut Seven Layer Bar. Delicious.

Mark and I didn’t go on the tour because we wanted to go to the nearby Burlington (about 20 minutes away) for a while too but I still had a great time at the factory and learned a lot. I’m really excited to hear Jerry speak tomorrow!

This post is pretty short because, as mentioned before, I am graduating tomorrow and have a lot to do. I am also going to be in Costa Rica next week and the week after (so I have a lot to pack) but I hope to blog again before that. Sorry for the short, rushed post!

 

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

