“After eating curry night after night, they deny the existence of asparagus”

#34: Starting in August: Make a new meal at least once a week (3/4)

IMG_5955

As you’ve seen before in this post from last week and this post from two weeks ago, I’ve been making a meal each week and, as someone who does not cook often, this is a huge deal. Last night I made something else for dinner, and I think it was my favorite dish I’ve made yet.

For this weeks’ meal, rather than pulling a recipe from my Veg Power! book, I decided to op for a recipe from a book I’m borrowing from one of my fellow Jazzercise instructors, Jess. I had asked Jess a while ago if she had any good vegetarian/pescartarian recipe books and she let me borrow the infamous The Enchanted Broccoli Forest. Upon thumbing through the pages, I was delighted with how almost whimsical the book is. I was in love with the hand drawn pictures.

Awesome drawings in The Enchanted Broccoli Forest

Awesome drawings in The Enchanted Broccoli Forest

Since my good friend and fellow foodie Nate was so happy about coming over for dinner last week, I invited him over again for dinner. I looked through the Enchanted Broccoli Forest for something that would really appeal to Nate. Nate loves weird, healthy food and is willing to try anything. We’ve gone to Italian restaurants, Vietnamese restaurants, Thai restaurants, Indian restaurants, you name it. I decided to make Nate an Indian dish called “Carrot-Cashew Curry”. I told Nate I would omit the cashews because last time I checked, he was allergic to nuts, but he told me he recently found out he no longer was! Woo!

Recipe for Carrot-Cashew Curry from the book

Recipe for Carrot-Cashew Curry from the book

The past two meals I made I got my ingredients from the local grocery store, Big E’s, but when I went yesterday to get the things for this meal, I found that I should probably go to the bigger store across town, Big Y. My mom came along and helped me out.

Here are the ingredients from the book and my notes in (bold):

  • 1 tbs. canola or peanut oil (I went with canola)
  • 1 tbs. grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp. mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp. dill seeds
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • 2 cups sliced red onion (two onions)
  • 4 large cloves garlic, minced (I used already minced garlic)
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 medium-sized potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 5 large carrots, thinly sliced (I used a bag of already sliced carrots)
  • 2 cups orange juice
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne (to taste)
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, thinly sliced (the bagger at the store forgot to bag this so I didn’t have one 😦 )
  • 1 cup yogurt (I used vanilla Greek yogurt)
  • 1 1/2 cups toasted cashews
  • Chutney (I found it in the International cooking aisle)
  • Raita

The Raita I made by combining the following:

  • 2 cups vanilla Greek yogurt
  • cumin (I didn’t measure but probably like a teaspoon and a half?)
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • Some onion

So here’s what I did!

  1. Heat a large deep skillet. Add in the oil, mustard seeds, and dill seeds. Saute over medium heat for 3-5 minutes or until the seeds start to pop.
  2. I put some brown rice on the stove and let it boil
  3. My mom added all the other spices I needed into a separate bowl and then added them in and she also put the onions in the chopper thing for me and added those. I grated the garlic and added that with the salt, sliced potatoes, and bag of carrots. I sautéed this for about 3-5 minutes and then added in the orange juice.
  4. I put the cover on and turned the stove to medium-low and let the potatoes cook for about 15 minutes.
  5. Then I added the cayenne pepper and let it stew for another few minutes.
  6. At the very last moment I added in the yogurt and stirred it in.
  7. I served the curry over the brown rice and put the Raita and Chutney on the side.
Oh, I also added the cashews on top. Also, this looks gross but tasted so good.

Oh, I also added the cashews on top. Also, this looks gross but tasted so good.

Nate and I ate this while watching several episodes of Arrested Development (we finished Season 1!) and were both so full when we were finished. This meal was really easy to make and if I do say so myself, tasted really good. Try it out! You won’t be disappointed.

Thanks,

Samantha

2 thoughts on ““After eating curry night after night, they deny the existence of asparagus”

  1. Pingback: “You are the cheese to my macaroni” | Summertime Goals

  2. Pingback: My Summer is Over | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

