“I did a salad, but I didn’t do a garden”

#34: Starting in August, make a new meal at least once a week (2/4)

IMG_5700

A week ago I did a blog post about my pescatarism and a goal I had added to my summer goals’ list – to make a new meal once a week in August. Well, it’s the second week of August, so I made a new meal!

This one, like last week’s, is from my Veg Power! Weight Watchers recipe book (which I mistakenly called “Go Veg!” in my last post…Not sure where that came from). I’m getting to really like the book, whatever it’s called; the recipes are simple and healthy. What’s not to love about that?

I had bookmarked the recipe “Brussels sprouts, pear, and frico salad” a while ago because the picture made it look so yummy. And it was only 4 Weight Watchers Points. Since it was a salad, I figured it’d be easy to make, so I decided to go with this one!

Picture of the recipe from the book Veg Power!

Picture of the recipe from the book Veg Power!

I texted my friend and fellow foodie, Nate, and asked if he wanted to join my mom and I for my homemade meal. After asking what it was and discovering it had one of his favorite foods in it (brussels sprouts), he agreed. He met me at Big E’s where he helped me get the following for the recipe:

Ingredients (my changes/notes in bold)

  • 2 (10-ounce) containers Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved. Big E’s did not have packaged brussels so I got some fresh ones from produce. Nate and I weighed them (about 1 1/2 pound) and when I got home I trimmed/halved them myself.
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese. Make sure it’s the fresh, real kind!
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice. I did 3 tablespoons.
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 (5-ounce) package baby spinach leaves. I didn’t measure this. But really, can you have too much spinach?
  • 1 ripe pear, thinly sliced. I did not bother to thinly slice the pear, just sliced it a little because I’m still afraid of knives. I used a bosc pear.

While I prepared the salads, I hooked Nate up with my Netflix and he and my mom watched a few episodes of Arrested Development, me going in occasionally when I heard a funny part coming up. I got to work right away. Here’s how I did it (it’s slightly different than the instructions in the book)!

Directions:

  1. Make sure you have two oven racks – one on the top slot and one on the bottom. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Spray a rimmed baking sheet with non-stick spray.
  3. Cut and trim Brussels! I cut the rough ends a little then sliced then in half. I like the leaves so I kept the majority of them.
  4. Put the cut brussels on the sprayed baking sheet. Make sure there is just one layer of the sprouts and that they’re all touching the sheet. I then took more nonstick spray and gave them a little coating.
  5. Put sheet in the oven and let the brussels roast. The recipe says to stir them once but I didn’t. I set the timer for 30 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, I took a separate baking sheet and put a layer of tinfoil on top. Using my fingers (the book says teaspoonfuls) I placed a little Parmesan cheese on the tinfoil, and repeated this until I had 12 clumps of cheese. They were about 1 inch apart.
  7. Put this sheet in the oven and bake them for about 7 minutes. Let them cool for 1 minute after.
Parmesan crisps (frico) right out of the oven

Parmesan crisps (frico) right out of the oven

8. In a large bowl, whisk together the lemon zest, lemon juice, oil, salt and pepper, and spinach. I then added the pear and divided it into 3 plates (the book said it serves 4) and then added the Brussels sprouts on top.

9. Add the frico (Parmesan crisps)

10. Enjoy!!

IMG_5701

 

I served the meal to Nate, my mom, and myself and we ate while we watched more Arrested Development. I liked this meal more than the stuffed peppers I made last week. The oil and the lemon went together nicely for a dressing but I chose to add a light ginger dressing to mine. The frico was awesome; I’m definitely going to be making that more.

Nate liked the meal too and after I gave him the leftover sprouts. It was so nice having him over for dinner!

Nate and the salad!

Nate and the salad!

Check back next week to see the next thing I make for my goals list!

ALSO! Come back tomorrow or the day after – I’m crossing something off tomorrow!

Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Thanks,

Samantha

 

2 thoughts on ““I did a salad, but I didn’t do a garden”

  1. Pingback: “After eating curry night after night, they deny the existence of asparagus” | Summertime Goals

  2. Pingback: “You are the cheese to my macaroni” | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

