“One way or another”

#31: Learn every routine off R2-13

Here is the list of routines. When I finished learning a routine, I would cross it off. "B" means that I "brought it in", or did it in a live class.

Here is the list of routines. When I finished learning a routine, I would cross it off. “B” means that I “brought it in”, or did it in a live class.

As some of my readers might know, one of my many mini-part time jobs is a Jazzercise instructor (read my first post about Jazzercise right here). I’ve been teaching Jazzercise for a little over two years and I love it for many reasons, one of which is that is never gets boring. Every 10 weeks, Jazzercise instructors get new routines via a DVD and choreography notes. This keeps the classes, music, and moves fresh and fun. Usually with my busy schedule I don’t have time to learn all 30 routines in the 10 weeks we have until the new DVD comes out, when I’m usually very eager to look at new routines. I thought I would challenge myself and put “Learn every routine off R2-13” on my list.

What does “R2-13” mean? Well, that’s the name of this new set of songs. We have R1-R5 and then the year it comes out, in this case “13”.

The Jazzercise songs on this list were as follows:

  1. Superlove
  2. #thatPower
  3. Beautiful Day
  4. Wings
  5. Oh Mama Hey
  6. Run Dat Back
  7. One Way or Another
  8. Where Will We Go?
  9. Get-Together
  10. My Heart Goes Boom
  11. Promises
  12. Move
  13. Default
  14. My Songs Know What you did in the Dark
  15. Follow Me
  16. Feel this Moment
  17. Pom Poms
  18. Tore Down
  19. Quizas Quizas Quizas
  20. Get Up (Rattle)
  21. Take a Chance on Me
  22. Stompa
  23. Daylight
  24. New Day
  25. Downtown
  26. Stay
  27. When I Was Your Man
  28. Just Give Me a Reason
  29. Just a Fool
  30. Break the Chain

 

You might see a lot of familiar song titles on the list. Because Jazzercise gives us new routines every 10 weeks, the songs stay current.

Usually how I tackle a new set of routines is I’ll learn the routine to the song I know best. Maybe it’s a song I hear on the radio all the time or just a song I really like. That way, I already know the pace of the music and how it goes a little, and the music goes really well with the routines. This time, however, I started with something that just seemed like so much fun. Now, they’re all fun, but I thought I would learn Pom Poms, a routine to the song by the Jonas Brothers, first because it seemed like a blast for the class.

Throughout the 10 weeks, I learned all of the routines. I usually learned about 1-3 a week, give or take. The last few I learned were New Day by Alicia Keys, Superlove by Avicii & Lenny Kravitz, and Quizas Quizas Quizas by Andrea Bocelli and Jennifer Lopez. I learned the last routine I had to learn, New Day, the day after I got my new DVD, R3-13. I have yet to “bring in”, or do these routines in a live class, but I plan on it this Friday when I teach next.

I really liked the set. I have a lot of new favorites. I’m really glad Jazzercise gives us new routines often and I know the customers like that as well. I think it’s also good for new customers; they can learn the new routines with customers who have been coming for years and they’d be on the same page.

I’m pretty proud of myself for doing this goal. I’ve been wanting to do it for the 2+ years I’ve been teaching. It’s nice that now I have 30 songs to make a set from. Now it’s on to R3!

 

More information about Jazzercise:

  • Website: jazzercise.com
  • Twitter: @JazzerciseInc
  • Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jazzerciseinc

More information about Jazzercise at Studio 116 (where I teach):

  • Class Locator: http://jcls.jazzercise.com/facility/jazzercise-at-studio-116
  • Website: http://www.studio116.com/jazzercise.html
  • Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JazzerciseStudio116
  • Address: 460 West St., Amherst, MA 01002
  • Phone: (413) 230-6525

 

Thanks,

Samantha

One thought on ““One way or another”

  1. Pingback: My Summer is Over | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

