“Tell us what you don’t like about yourself”

#33: Finish Nip/Tuck

IMG_5191

The last time I went to California to visit my family was the end of 2010 and I rang in the New Year with my cousins, aunt, and mom all the way on the other side of the country. One day while I was there, I went into my cousin Dara’s room to hang out for a bit. She was watching a show on Netflix through her T.V. At my house, I think we had just gotten Netflix so I was still kind of unsure of how it worked.

Dara was watching Nip/Tuck and told me in was about plastic surgery. I think at the time she was on Season 4 or 5. I immediately got hooked into it and we watched a few episodes together, her occasionally stopping to explain to me what was going or who used to date who and so on. I really liked watching the different surgeries and of course all the drama in between. When I got back to Massachusetts I immediately put Nip/Tuck on my Instant Queue.

So I started Season 1 Episode 1 in early 2011, even though Season 1 Episode 1 aired in 2003. I watched the first few seasons pretty quickly, I think. Eventually I stopped watching it all together at about Season 5. I just got busy with things and then forgot about it even though I loved the show.

My parents moved the Wii (with the Netflix) into our air conditioned living room rather than the “glass room” that is always steaming hot. I decided to put it on my list because I hadn’t finished the seasons but it has been over three years.

A few weeks ago I started from where I left off on Season 5 (there are 6 seasons) and remembered, after about a year of not watching it at all, how awesome of a show it is. It’s out of control. There’s so much drama between business partners, lovers, married couples, daughters and sons, grandparents, and so on and so on. Everyone sleeps with everyone. Everyone fights everyone. It’s the craziest show ever.

Basically it’s about Dr. Sean McNamara and Dr. Christian Troy, two plastic surgeons who went to med school together and now own a practice. The show follows them and their life outside of the office as they experience several ethical snags, deaths, births, lovers, and soooooo much weird stuff for just one show to handle. If you can think of it, it was probably in one of the episodes.

Sean McNamara (Nip/Tuck)

Sean McNamara (Nip/Tuck) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Christian Troy

Christian Troy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But, the surgeries are really cool to watch and the creator, Ryan Murphy, claims that the show is medically accurate. The most interesting episode to me was one in Season 3 called Joy Kringle (all the episodes are named after a patient they work on in that episode). In it, Joy, a woman who plays Mrs. Claus at a mall or something, wants to get liposuction to make the Claus’s appear more healthy (her husband plays Mr. Claus at the mall as well). While they’re operating on her, they discover a lithopedion, or a stone baby. Pretty interesting.

When I clicked on the last episode I was really sad. I didn’t want it to end at all. I don’t want to give anything away, but I guess it did have a happy ending (even though one of my favorite characters did die).

One of the last frames from the last episode of the last season.

One of the last frames from the last episode of the last season.

I would literally give anything for this show to be back on the air. The way it ended, it could easily pick up again! I wish I could have watched it while all of America was also watching it, instead of years later. The show ended in 2010. It took be about three years to watch 100 episodes. But, I loved the show and the characters and I actually learned a lot from the show. I will definitely miss it.

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

