“Cocoa/vanilla/whatever”

#4: Bake something with Nora

IMG_5183

Me, Nora, and Mel Willy with our cupcakes!

The first time I had a bite of Nora’s (remember her from the Museum of Bad Art post?) baking was way back to when I barely knew her. We were at a show and she had made sticky buns but all that was left was the tins. Having a few mutual friends, Bianca and I asked if I could put my finger in some of the left over icing of the tin and try a taste. I remember Bianca and I were shocked at how good just the icing from these sticky buns were. I remember basically licking the tin clean.

As I grew closer and closer with Nora I started being around her baked goods more and more. She made an awesome, delicious cake for a Rolling Stones show and attended my cookie swap a few months ago and won the first place prize for Best Cookie (in which attendees voted). She’s also made really impressive birthday cakes. Not only are her baked goods tasty, they’re also just pleasing to the eye.

Nora and her awesome cake from the "Let it Bleed' Album

Nora and her awesome cake from the “Let it Bleed’ Album

Cookies from the cookie swap I had in March. Nora's cookies are on the white plate.

Cookies from the cookie swap I had in March. Nora’s cookies are on the white plate.

Nora’s also starting her own baking business from her bicycle and you can read about her journey with that here on her own blog! I also mentioned it in this post: Bake, bake, bake, senora

So I knew I had to put “Bake something with Nora” because she’s an awesome baker and I wanted some of her skills to rub off on me because this is about the most I can do in terms of baked goods:

IMG_3615

Nora and I decided to make cupcakes because they’re fun and easy. She came over and we looked at her list of ingredients:

IMG_5148

It reads:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup oil (any kind)
  • 1 cup hot coffee
  • 2 eggs
  • pinch of salt
Our ingredients as listed above.

Our ingredients as listed above.

And for the frosting:

  • confectioners sugar
  • butter
  • cocoa/vanilla/whatever
  • some milk

Nora described this recipe as really easy and you just kind of dump everything into a bowl, mix it, and then bake it. So we took turns putting our ingredients in a big bowl and mixed it with a handheld mixer.

Our mixture

Our mixture after the mixer.

At about this point, our friend Mel Willy came over to help. We filled the cupcakes tins and put them in the oven at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes.

IMG_5150

While we waited we watched the new Miley Cyrus video and thought about it.

IMG_5151

Nora showed us her frosting tools too.

So many! Each with a different opening.

So many! Each with a different opening. Each opening yields a different type of design.

We waited until the cupcakes were completely cool and then started making our frosting. At this point I was also starting to get ready for our night at Glory Days, so I was in and out of the kitchen. Nora combined sugar, peanut butter, a little milk, and butter and mixed it all together. Then, using one of her special metal things that she hammered herself, she showed us how to make roses on the cupcakes.

You start with a “boop” using a regular point:

Boop

Boop

Then you take the special point for flowers and make sort tiny bridges around the boop.

Nora hard at work

Nora hard at work

Finished product!

Finished product!

Then it was my turn to try:

IMG_5162 IMG_5164 IMG_5165 IMG_5166 IMG_5167 IMG_5168 IMG_5169 IMG_5170 IMG_5172

It didn’t turn out too good.

My sad attempt at a flower.

My sad attempt at a flower.

We had an awesome time playing with the different openings and decorating cupcakes.

IMG_5173 IMG_5175 IMG_5176 IMG_5177 IMG_5179 IMG_5180

As we worked we talked about my various weird apartment parties, how much we miss Bianca, and Miley Cyrus. I had a really fun time with them.

These are all the finished cupcakes. On the left you'll see an alien face, "plz twerk", one of those old S's people used to make in like 4th grade, an apple pie looking cupcake, one that I put all the extra frosting on top of and it fell over, a scary smilie face, one with our initials, and one with swirls. On the right rack you'll see "Reese Witherspoon", a butt twerking, a couple cute ones, "Twe" with butts, "RK", "The D.J", my flower and Nora's flower.

These are all the finished cupcakes. On the left you’ll see an alien face, “plz twerk”, one of those old S’s people used to make in like 4th grade, an apple pie looking cupcake, one that I put all the extra frosting on top of and it fell over, a scary smilie face, one with our initials, and one with swirls. On the right rack you’ll see “Reese Witherspoon”, a butt twerking, a couple cute ones, “Twe” with butts, “RK”, “The D.J”, my flower and Nora’s flower.

After giving one to my mom and dad, we tried some ourselves. It was so good! You can’t taste the coffee at all, the coffee just makes the cupcake taste even chocolatier. The frosting was awesome and just the perfect amount of peanut butter. In the words of Nora, “Frosting is forgiving”; you kind of just have to play around with it until it tastes how you want it to taste.

After we baked and ate some cupcakes we went out to Glory Days and gave the DJ and special treat.

He ate it in like .6 seconds

He ate it in like .6 seconds

Like I said, I had a really great time baking with the girls. Baking is always fun but it’s better when you’re doing it with someone who actually knows what’s going on a little.

Look out for Nora as she starts her awesome baking business so you can try her cookin’ yourself!

 

For more information on Nora’s baked goods:

http://boringnorabakes.wordpress.com/

 

Twitters: 

Nora: @norebore

Mel Willy: @msmelwilly

 

Thanks,

Samantha

Related articles

2 thoughts on ““Cocoa/vanilla/whatever”

  1. Pingback: “Too much romance…it’s time for stuffed peppers” | Summertime Goals

  2. Pingback: “You are the cheese to my macaroni” | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

