“Ease your mind and leave your heart with me”

#21:  Visit Head Eaze

Me in front of the Head Eaze sign.

Me in front of the Head Eaze sign in my beach gear.

One of my friends/coworkers, Nicole, has been interested in buisness since I’ve met her about five years ago.  She had been taking classes online for her business degree and I was so excited when she told me she was opening her very own store with her then-boyfriend now-fiancee (!!!), Justin. It was so cool to me that she was actually doing something I had seen her so passionate about for so long. I knew that I had to go visit when I had the time (the store is about 1.5 hrs from where I live).

Nicole and Justin’s store, Head Eaze, is a head shop in downtown North Adams, right on Eagle Street (#28 to be exact). The location is seriously awesome; there isn’t a store like hers in the artsy Steeple City and Eagle Street is right off (the) Main Street and a nice, big parking lot.

I had wanted to go to Head Eaze for a while and tried to get a big group from work to go. That was hard to do since we all work at the same place and someone has to be there working a shift. Nicole told me the best day to go would be Friday, July 12 (yesterday) because that is the day of the 15th annual Eagle Street Beach Party (more information about that here) and it’s always a fun time. I was working that day so I had someone take my shift (thanks, Dan!) so my friend Grace and I could go!

Grace and I decided to go all out in terms of what to wear to this beach party. We hit the road to North Adams, like I said, about 1.5 hrs away but the best drive ever. We took the Mohawk Trail and made a stop at Shelburne Falls to the Bridge of Flowers (see my last post here) and then carried on back on our way to North Adams!

After numerous trading posts, hilly hills, and the infamous hairpin turn, we had arrived in North Adams. We parked in a lot right in the center of town. When we got out, we could hear music playing. Grace had been to Nicole’s store before so she lead the way. We took a small, nice alley right to Eagle Street and what I saw shocked me.

What I saw as soon as I got on to Eagle Street (across the street to the left is Head Eaze).

What I saw as soon as I got on to Eagle Street (across the street to the left is Head Eaze).

There were people EVERYWHERE. And of course so much sand! Nicole said earlier in the morning they dumped all the sand out and spread it out with shovels. The kid scene of the party was 3:30-6:30 P.M. and the adult events were 7-10 P.M. Grace and I got there around 4 or 4:30 so the sand was loaded with children of all ages. Some brought kiddy pools or shovels and pales. It was really awesome.

Looking on Eagle Street to Main Street.

Looking on Eagle Street to Main Street.

The sand felt good; nice and cool!

The sand felt good; nice and cool!

There was an ice cream truck parked at the end of the street all day!

There was an ice cream truck parked at the end of the street all day!

But a local church was giving out FREE ice cream (Grace and I were very excited about this).

But a local church was giving out FREE ice cream (Grace and I were very excited about this).

Looking towards the other end.

Looking towards the other end.

IMG_5045

IMG_5056

After a quick look around, Grace and I headed into Head Eaze, one of the few shops on the street to be opened that day, which surprised me. As soon as I walked in we saw Nicole and Justin at the front desk and I felt so happy for them! It was so cool actually seeing Nicole in her own store behind her own counter. The first thing I noticed about the store was the smell. It is definitely the best-smelling store I have ever been in and I really wish I could put a link on here that would lead you to a scratch and sniff button or something so you could have experienced it. Nicole later lit some more incense and it really added a relaxing feel to the store.

The products in Head Eaze are really awesome. The front counter has beautiful stones and locally made jewelry.

Beautiful handmade silver rings in the front counter display at Head Eaze.

Beautiful handmade silver rings in the front counter display at Head Eaze.

Also towards the front of the store are nice tapestries, and tons of hemp and organic clothing.

IMG_5034

There was a sale on the hemp winter wear.

There was another display case with various items on it, like more hemp wear, incense, soaps, etc.

The display case I was just referring to.

The display case I was just referring to.

Towards the back of the room was gorgeous hand blown glass and smoking accessories, they even had big hookahs!

Grace and I looked around quite a bit and I picked up some hemp lavender and mint lip balm (that I’m now obsessed with) and some awesome origami earrings of paper cranes for my friend’s birthday (wish I got a picture of them but I already gave them to her…She really liked then – wore them the whole night!).

Nicole and I doing bizznas.

Nicole and I doing bizznas.

Here are some more pictures of the store:

Grace and Nicole

Grace and Nicole

Mannequin in hemp garb checking out the beach scene.

Mannequin in hemp garb checking out the beach scene.

Beach party through the front door.

Beach party through the front door.

Nicole under the Head Eaze sign (Justin didn't want to be in the picture :(  )

Beautiful Nicole under the Head Eaze sign (Justin didn’t want to be in the picture 😦 )

What I really liked about Head Eaze was that Nicole and Justin really knew about their products from the art on the walls to the products in their display cases. They know so much about hemp and its benefits and give tons of credit to the local artisans who contribute to their store. It really makes you appreciate the shop. A couple of customers came in while we were there and they were both so friendly to them (not like I’m surprised about that at all). It was a really awesome experience! I, of course, recommend going to Head Eaze, not just because I know the owners but it’s just a cool store that’s not like anything else there. There’s so much to do in North Adams and I know Nicole stays posted on what’s going on in the town and could probably tell tourists what else is going on and where things are. There is a lot more to the store than what I have pictures of but you could see it for yourself, OR check out their info below!

 

More information on Head Eaze and hours:

Address: 28 Eagle Street, North Adams MA, 01247

Phone: 413-664-9467

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Head-Eaze/509683655709432

 

Thanks,

Samantha

 

3 thoughts on ““Ease your mind and leave your heart with me”

Leave a Reply

