“The earth laughs in flowers”

#16: Go to the Bridge of Flowers

Grace and I at the Bridge of Flowers in Shelburne Falls, MA.

Grace and I at the Bridge of Flowers in Shelburne Falls, MA (outfits explained later).

I think the first time I heard of the Bridge of Flowers was in 2011, after Hurricane Irene. I remember seeing people on Facebook post about how the waters from the hurricane flooded the Bridge of Flowers and how it was a really depressing thing to look at. Well, the flood is now gone, so I thought I would put it on my list…I mean, who wouldn’t want to see something called “the Bridge of Flowers”? Before summer, I Googled the bridge and thought it was gorgeous. I was really excited to see it in real life.

I asked one of my friends Amy, fellow adventure-seeker, in the beginning of summer if she wanted to do this trip with me and she said that she had been wanting to see it for a while. We were going to go with her boyfriend and my friend Dan but then I slowly realized that I would kind of be like the third wheel in a trip that has tons of potential to be really romantic. So I told them both that they need to just go alone.

Yesterday my friend Grace and I were on our way to North Adams for another thing on my list (see next post! I’ll probably have it up tomorrow if not tonight) and a beach party there (hence the silly outfits in the picture above). We were on the Mohawk Trail, gawking at all the fun things to look at on Route 2, and we passed the sign for Shelburne. We started talking about the difference between Shelburne and Shelburne Falls (because I didn’t realize there was a difference) and I told Grace that going to the Bridge of Flowers in Shelburne Falls is on my list. Grace checked the GPS to see if it was pretty close to where we were and it was only 10 minutes away! We decided to make a quick stop at the bridge.

From Route 2, the bridge is super easy to find; we didn’t really even need the GPS. There’s a sign that points you to Shelburne Falls on the left, and from there there’s signs that direct you to the ever-famous bridge. Grace and I drove through the quaint, adorable town of Shelburne Falls and loved looking at all the little shops and buildings. We got to a big white bridge and assumed it was the Bridge of Flowers and I was kind of confused there wasn’t any flowers on it. But, as we drove on the bridge and looked to the right, we saw it!

Pictures do not do justice for this bridge. It was so pretty even from afar! We found a parking spot right next to it basically and got out to look around.

When you first walk to the bridge (on either side) there's a cute little sign and also a small information center with pamphlets and a donation box.

When you first walk to the bridge (on either side) there’s a cute little sign and also a small information center with pamphlets and a donation box.

The bridge as a lot of little archways on it.

The bridge has a lot of little archways on it.

 

Grace taking a whiff.

Grace taking a whiff.

IMG_4945 IMG_4946 IMG_4948 IMG_4949

IMG_4951 IMG_4952 IMG_4953 IMG_4954

IMG_4950 IMG_4956 IMG_4975 IMG_4995

IMG_4955 IMG_4961 IMG_4962 IMG_4963

IMG_4964 IMG_4965 IMG_4966 IMG_4967 IMG_4968 IMG_4969 IMG_4970 IMG_4971 IMG_4973 IMG_4974 IMG_4976 IMG_4978 IMG_4979 IMG_4980 IMG_4983 IMG_4984

IMG_4972 IMG_4975 IMG_4986 IMG_4995 IMG_4996 IMG_5011

IMG_4985 IMG_4987 IMG_4988 IMG_4989 IMG_4992 IMG_4993 IMG_4994 IMG_4997 IMG_4998 IMG_4999 IMG_5001 IMG_5002 IMG_5003 IMG_5004 IMG_5005 IMG_5006 IMG_5010 IMG_5012 IMG_5016 IMG_5017 IMG_5018

Pretty Grace!

Pretty Grace!

Grace

Grace

IMG_4991

Ahhhhh..

Ahhhhh..

Grace and I

Grace and I

Clearly, it was really nice to be on the bridge. It’s great to take photos on (obviously) and it’s a really nice walk. On one side is Shelburne Falls and when you cross you’re in Buckland. There’s so many species of flowers and everyone on the path was really nice when we went. It’s nice that they did something so wonderful to an old abandoned trolley bridge that was weeding.

After the bridge we drove to the nearby potholes. Again, it was easy to find due the signs around town.

IMG_5019

Shelburne Falls is a really nice, sweet town. I recommend taking a trip to the Bridge of Flowers and checking out the other awesome things the town offers. It’s also close to other quirky things around the Mohawk Trail. I’m really glad that I was able to go on the bridge in this little impromptu stop.

By the way the quote is from Ralph Waldo Emerson!

For more information about the Bridge of Flowers:

Website: www.bridgeofflowersmass.org/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bridge-of-Flowers/130369333692022?ref=br_tf

Twitter: @Bridgeofflowers

Friends in this post:

Grace: @_GraceLindsay

Amy: @AmyVermette

 

Thanks,

Samantha

 

One thought on ““The earth laughs in flowers”

  1. Pingback: “Ease your mind and leave your heart with me” | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

