“Though it’s cold and lonely in the deep, dark night”

#5:   Sing “Paradise by the Dashboard Light” at karaoke with Lauren

Lauren and I last night at Glory Days

Lauren and I last night at Glory Days

When I first heard the song Paradise by the Dashboard Light by Meat Loaf and Ellen Foley, I was about 14 or 15. I heard it at my dear friend Lauren’s house. She had recently gotten a karaoke machine and we were playing around with it. Her aunt sang the song on it and I remember Lauren and I really liked it, probably because it’s really sexual and we were pubescent.

Now I’m all about karaoke and I can go up there and sing rap or or dance all while making a fool out of myself and I can be 100% sober or annihilated and it wouldn’t make a difference. Some of my popular choices are You’re So Vain by Carly Simon, Rich Girl by Hall and Oates (which I always since with my pal, Mary), and  All Falls Down by Kanye West. For me, it’s always really exciting to do a “new song”, meaning one you have never karaoked before, so I was sort of on the prowl for that perfect karaoke song that the “audience” really likes.

My buddy Lauren has done some karaoke before, usually joining me on backups on such hits as Hey Ya by Outkast, Gold Digger by Kanye West and Jamie Foxx, and any Spice Girls song. But I wanted to sing a song with her as a duet. So I told her that we were going to sing Paradise by the Dashboard Light for one of my summer goals.

I’m not sure if it’s just because the first time I heard this song was on a kareoke machine, but to me it really is one of the most perfect karaoke songs ever. Here are reasons why it’s good:

  1. It’s a duet
  2. There’s different “parts” of the song so it doesn’t get boring
  3. It’s a little dirty but also kind of sweet
  4. It is, or was at one point, pretty popular
  5. The two singers have fun voices that you can kind of mimic
  6. It’s fun to dance to

Here are reasons why it’s not the best:

  1. That long part in the middle with the baseball announcer

Now, that part  CAN be good if the words come up during that point. If they don’t come up, you kind of just have to stand there in awkwardness. Nevertheless, there are definitely more pros to this song than cons.

So every Thursday night at our beloved Glory Days in Easthampton, they have karaoke. We went there last night and I had texted Lauren prior to us leaving that we were going to sing the song tonight. At our respective houses, we listened to the song to get familiar with it. Lauren said the only way she would sing it was if I was the boy. I readily agreed.

Almost immediately upon arriving at Glory Days, I gave the DJ (whom I am now on a stage-name basis with), my song choices. My stage name at karaoke, no matter where I go, is always Hitman Sammy Sam, in honor of the not-so-famous-or-successful rapper, Hitman Sammy Sam. I gave Lauren the stage name L Dog. We had also decided that we would sing Spiderwebs by No Doubt, since a few weeks before Lauren’s boyfriend Zack and our friend Amanda claimed they had no idea what the song was. I, of course, also opted for Did it On Em by Nicki Minaj (which they didn’t have so I did Stupid Hoe instead).

Upon seeing the order I put for the songs, Lauren made me switch them around so she could have another drink or two before we sang.

Upon seeing the order I put for the songs, Lauren made me switch them around so she could have another drink or two before we sang.

After a while, the DJ called up our stage names and we went up and performed. It was really awesome.

IMG_4687

IMG_4686

IMG_4684Unfortunately, they didn’t have the words up during the baseball part, so we kind of just danced around a little. However, our performance was filled with us laughing and just having a blast. It was a great time. Also special thanks to Mary for taking the pictures!

Lauren’s Twitter: @Lross2213

Thanks,

Samantha

  • Karaoke (spoonful.com)

    Paradise by the Dashboard Light

    Paradise by the Dashboard Light (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

