“Squeeze it, smush it, pat it, mush it”

#29: Make Play Dough with Bianca

Bianca with our first batch

Bianca with our first batch

On the last day of my favorite class last semester, EDUC 381, my professor gave us all a piece of play dough and a recipe to make the “perfect play dough”. I saved the recipe and decided I was going to make a batch or two for one of my summer goals list. I couldn’t think of a better person than Bianca to make it with (she’s been in a couple previous posts). I also wanted to share with you the step-by-step process of how to make play dough so you can try it too! Check out the video tutorial below if you’d rather learn that way!!

Bianca and I decided we would make the play dough on Tuesday (it was the 25th…Sorry I haven’t written this sooner). It was the perfect day to do it because it was also Bianca’s last day here in Massachusetts. The next day, she moved to California and I miss her already. So this was a nice way to send her off I guess.

In the morning, I gathered all of the ingredients I needed and headed to Stop and Shop to get the things I was missing.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water 
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • food coloring

 

Then I headed over to Bianca’s house. It was sad when I got in; she had all of her suitcases ready to go. After watching the new Miley Cyrus video and hanging out for a bit, we got started. It should also be noted that we listened to the new Miley Cyrus song the ENTIRE time we made the play dough.

Here’s the recipe we followed:

Prof. G's recipe she gave me the last day of class.

Prof. G’s recipe she gave me the last day of class.

In case you can’t read that:

RECIPE:

1. Mix together:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water 
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • food coloring

2. Cook on the stove on low heat for 5 minutes, stirring constantly

3. Knead on counter or board until smooth

4. Squeeze it, smush it, pat it, mush it!

 

So we started by getting all of the ingredients together. For the  oil, we used vegetable oil.

What you'll need!

What you’ll need!

Bianca and the supplies

Bianca and the supplies

Yours truly

Yours truly

 

Then we did step 1, mix them all together.

Putting in the cream of tartar

Putting in the cream of tartar

IMG_4619

And the vegetable oil

And the vegetable oil

We mixed them all together, but we saved the food coloring for after (see below). Bianca kept forgetting that we were making play dough and not something to eat.

IMG_4624

IMG_4623

We poured the mixture into the pan we were going to use on the stove and then we added the food coloring so we could easily just use the same bowl for another batch without worrying about the color rubbing off.

Looks yummy, huh?

Looks yummy, huh?

For our first batch, we decided to go with purple.

For our first batch, we decided to go with purple.

IMG_4629

When it was the color we wanted, like this, we put it on the stove

When it was the color we wanted, like this, we put it on the stove

We brought the pan over to the stove which was set on low heat. We stirred it on the stove for about 3-5 minutes.

It started to get chunky pretty quickly.

It started to get chunky pretty quickly.

And it starts getting harder and harder to stir

And it starts getting harder and harder to stir

IMG_4639

 

IMG_4642

After about 5 minutes, it’ll turn into what Bianca describes as a “burrito shape”.

 

Then we put it on the cutting board and played with it!

Then we put it on the cutting board and played with it!

IMG_4649

IMG_4647

We decided to make a second batch and make a very silly video tutorial (with dance breaks) of how to make the play dough (and yes, I did do an outfit change). Hope you like it!

After our video tutorial, it was time to say goodbye to Bianca before she left. As I said, I miss her already but I have no doubt in my mind that she will succeed there. She’s one of my bestest friends in the whole world and I’m glad we had such a fun time for her last day home.

IMG_4651

Good luck with the play dough making! It’s fun, easy, safe for kids (besides the stove part), and I guess it’s edible too. 😀

Thanks,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

