Button, button, who’s got the button?

#3: Make button bracelets for all of my friends

A while ago I found a picture of really cute button bracelets on Pinterest (where else?). I decided I really wanted to make these for my friends this summer. However, when I clicked on the link to learn how to make them, the page didn’t exist. (Here’s the link I pinned: http://pinterest.com/pin/54465476715347743/). The picture didn’t explain how to make them or how to tie them off. It was just this:

e21e97c02f0393fc1829fd83c8895a60

I had some hemp left over from a few summers ago and found a button in my (old) apartment that was just lying on the floor. I took the button and some hemp to the church, where I work in the nursery. Sometimes we don’t have any kids come in so I bring things to do in case that’s the situation.

I showed the picture to Erin, my co-worker, and knowing how crafty she is, asked her if she knew how it could be done. She showed me right away! She taught me how to do it and I just tied a quick knot at the end onto my wrist.

As the weeks went on, Erin and I started making bracelets using hemp that my friend Lauren R. gave me. All of the ones I made were for my friends (for my list) or people I knew who wanted one. Erin taught me a way to make the bracelets adjustable and we always had fun chit chatting while making the bracelets. One of the church members even suggested we make sell them there!

Erin making one of her bracelets (hers are much better than mine)

Erin making one of her bracelets (hers are much better than mine)

I got my buttons from all over. I had some from clothes and so did my mom. My mom’s friend Jane (https://summertimegoals.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/dont-spoil-a-good-story-by-telling-the-truth/) gave me some of her collection of vintage buttons as well. After texting some of my friends to see if they had a color preference, I completed my list of people to make them for.

Vintage buttons from Jane

Vintage buttons from Jane

I decided I would teach my faithful readers how to make these bracelets. Here’s a tutorial!

How to make button bracelets!

This one is for a button with 2 holes like this:

Two-holed button

Two-holed button

Materials you’ll need:

IMG_4264

  • A button with two holes
  • Scissors
  • Scotch tape
  • Hemp

IMG_4296

And clear nail polish!

Step 1: Cut a piece of hemp about 7 inches long (I don’t measure when I make the bracelets, I just go by what looks right)

IMG_4265

Step 2: Loop the hemp through one hole and out of the other and make the ends at the same length.

Don't forget to make sure both ends are even!

Don’t forget to make sure both ends are even!

Step 3: Tie a cute knot by the button (make sure the ends stay even!)

IMG_4267

Step 4: Repeat steps 1-3 on the other hole of the button

IMG_4269

Step 5: Bring the bracelet around the strings overlap each other a little bit and tape it to the surface.

Sorry this picture is a little blurry! Also, try to make it so the button is to the left (rather than upward). This works best for me.

Sorry this picture is a little blurry! Also, try to make it so the button is to the left (rather than upward). This works best for me.

Here’s how to make the adjusting part (it’s called the Square Knot):

Step 6: Cut a long piece of string. 

This one was about 2 feet

This one was about 2 feet

Step 7: Put the string you just cut under the four pieces in-between the tape.

IMG_4272

Step 8: Lift the right side of the string and bring it to the other side, past the 4 strings.

IMG_4273

Step 9: Lift the left side of the string over the one you just crossed over

IMG_4274

Step 10: With the string you just put over, bring the end under the right sided string that you crossed over

It goes right in that little space

It goes right in that little space

Step 11: Put the end of that string under and through the 4 in the middle

It goes right in that little space too!

It goes right in that little space too!

Step 12: Take the end of the string and pull it through the little space and tie the knot!

IMG_4279

Step 13: Do the other side!

This time the left side goes over the 4 strings.

This time the left side goes over the 4 strings.

The left side then goes over the right side you just crossed over

The left side then goes over the right side you just crossed over

Same string you just brought down goes under and through the space.

Same string you just brought down goes under and through the space.

Bring that string under the 4 strings and into the other space

Bring that string under the 4 strings and into the other space

Pull it through and make the knot!

Pull it through and make the knot!

Step 14: Keep doing this (alternating right and left) until you think the knot is long enough.

IMG_4285

Step 15: With the two strings sticking out, tie a knot.

IMG_4287

Step 16: Flip the knot over

IMG_4288

Step 17: With the extra string, tie another knot on this side

IMG_4289

Step 18: Apply some clear nail polish to the knots you just made (not the Square Knot part) to keep it together

IMG_4291

Step 19: Cut the extra string from the knots you just made 

IMG_4293

Step 20: Tie cute little knots at the ends of the 4 pieces left over

IMG_4294

You’re done!

Cute! This one was for Alyssa.

Cute! This one was for Alyssa.

For a button with 4 holes, it’s almost the same thing.

Step 1: Cut a string about a foot long and put one end through a hole and the other end through the other hole

IMG_4299

Step 2: Pull a little to create a loop

IMG_4300

Step 3: Take the ends of the string and pull them through the loop

IMG_4301

Step 4: Pull through!

IMG_4302

Step 5: Do the same thing with the other two holes

And then all of the other steps are the same!

Now here are my friends with their bracelets!

1. The first one I made, with the button from the apartment, I gave to Grace. At the time I didn’t know how to close it off without just knotting it so I re-did it after I learned.

Before:

Grace T.

Grace T.

After:

Grace's new and improved button bracelet

Grace’s new and improved button bracelet

2. The second one I made for Bianca. I got the button from an old shirt I had. Erin had shells with her so I tied shells on to the end of Bianca’s since she’s moving to California in a week.

Bianca's bracelet

Bianca’s bracelet

Bianca with her bracelet

Bianca and her bracelet

3. Numero 3 I made for Kim, one of my co-workers, who said she wanted a sea-foam green one, which I just happened to have. The button was also from old clothes.

Kim and her bracelet

Kim and her bracelet

4. The fourth bracelet I made was for Jojo (see last post). Jojo can rock all jewelry so I decided to make her a chunky button one for her graduation. This bracelet was also from old clothes.

Kim's green bracelet and Jojo's chunky maroon one taped to the graduation card I made her

Kim’s green bracelet and Jojo’s chunky maroon one taped to the graduation card I made her

The recent grad, Jojo and I (and her bracelet!)

The recent grad, Jojo and I (and her bracelet!)

5. The fifth bracelet I made was for my friend Nora. I decided to use a tan button I had from clothes for Nora and put brown beads at the end of hers. Her boyfriend Ned delivered the bracelet to her for me!

Nora's bracelet

Nora’s bracelet

So day 1 of making bracelets, I did Jojo’s, Nora’s Bianca’s and Kim’s in one shift at the church!

Kim's , Nora's, and Bianca's bracelets

Kim’s , Nora’s, and Bianca’s bracelets

6. Day 2 of button making, I made a pretty pink one for my friend Lauren M. Lauren’s button is vintage!

Lauren M. and her bracelet

Lauren M. and her bracelet

7. Day 3 of bracelet making, I made Laura‘s. This one is also with a vintage button and I LOVE this button. Very unique.

Laura N.'s chunky and shiny red button

Laura N.’s chunky and shiny red button

The reverse. Some kind of thread around the button here.

The reverse. Some kind of thread around the button here.

Laura

Laura

8. Day 4 of bracelet making I made one for Mary, Amanda, Lauren R., and Jenna. These were mostly two-holed buttons. The first I made this day was Mary‘s. Mary had a weird Hawaiian phase in high school so when I saw this button (given to me by Jane), I knew this one would be perfect for her. It was also the first bracelet I made with a two-holed button.

I also but shells on Mary's.

I also put shells on Mary’s.

Close up!

Close up!

I delivered it to Mary right after I made it!

Mary and her bracelet

Mary and her bracelet

9. I made Amanda‘s next. I knew I wanted Amanda’s button to be yellow because it’s her favorite color so Erin let me use her yellow button. I also put shells on Amanda’s.

IMG_4242

Close up!

Close up!

Amanda modeling it

Amanda modeling it

10. Next I made Lauren‘s and wanted to do green because it’s her favorite color. Erin showed me some waxy thread as well so I thought I’d experiment with it. It also has shells on it. I gave it to her tonight, on her BIRTHDAY!!!! (Happy birthday Lauren!)

Lauren's bracelet

Lauren’s bracelet

11. Next I made Jenna‘s. The picture doesn’t do justice too well here to the color of the button. This button is vintage and a very deep blue and it has tiny cracks in it. I think it’s too cute.

Jenna's bracelet

Jenna’s bracelet

Also gave Jenna her bracelet tonight. :D Here's her and Lauren's.

Also gave Jenna her bracelet tonight. 😀 Here’s her and Lauren’s.

12. For Emily, I decided on black since, as you have read from a past post, she is a very deep, dark person. I gave it to her today at work! Thanks Laura for taking the picture for me!

Emily!

Emily!

13. For my boss, Nina, I made the bracelet with a wooden button that my mom gave me.

Nina and bracelet!

Nina and bracelet!

14. For Hayley, I made the button with the sister of the wood one I made Nina.

IMG_4372

15. As you saw, Alyssa‘s button is a beautiful vintage button with one side shiny silver and the other side kind of a dark brown.

Alyssa!

Alyssa!

16. The last one I made was for my very dear friend, Miranda. It’s a deep blue/purple button.

IMG_4333

Hope you enjoyed this post and learned something from it or just liked looking at my decently made jewelry. I’m still learning and having a ton of fun with it. If anyone wants one, just let me know!

And as you know, I’m trying to do the whole thing where I post Twitter names so you can follow my wonderful friends.

  • Grace: @_GraceLindsay
  • Bianca: @BiancaNicole_yo
  • Lauren M: @LaurenMcGrath2
  • Laura: @ChiaoBella1
  • Amanda: @Akong9
  • Lauren R: @Lross2213
  • Emily: @Thumbellena_
  • Alyssa: OHheyacdubbs

Thanks,

Samantha

One thought on “Button, button, who’s got the button?

  1. Pingback: “If I had to describe that online class in emojis it would be this…” | Summertime Goals

Leave a Reply

