“Taking it to the streets”

#13: Eat at the Bistro Bus

One of my dear friends, Betsy, started a new business this year after having a catering business for 25 years. She started Bistro Bus to put these years of great cookin’ “to the streets” of the Pioneer Valley. As soon as she opened up, I knew I had to try it. I decided to put it on my infamous summer list.

I decided to bring along my friend and fellow foodie, Nate, to join me at the eatery. Nate looked it up on their Facebook page (see here: https://www.facebook.com/bistrobus413) and, upon looking at their menu, immediately agreed to join me.

The Bistro Bus Facebook page is updated very regularly and explains where they will be for lunch and from what times. We looked at one of their posts that explained where they would be for the whole week (many different places!) and we decided to go today since their location today was right on King Street in Northampton. Nate and I decided to ride our bikes there from our town, Easthampton (about 6 miles on the bike path). It turned out being an interesting bike ride. My tire popped and spewed green goo and my dad had to come bring my other bike.

The problem tire. :(

The problem tire. 😦

I think of the Manhan Bike Trail as a highway where there are exits and on-ramps. Nate and I got off the trail at what I think of as the “King Street exit”. After riding on King Street for a little while, we saw the Bistro Bus! It is actually quite hard to miss. The bus was parked in the Greenfield Savings Bank parking lot and was shining in the sun with oranges, yellows, and greens. It’s very beautiful. When Nate and I arrived Betsy greeted us and it was so nice to see her! Just then a swarm of people, it seemed, gathered toward the bus. There was a pretty decent sized line!

IMG_4076

After checking out the menu, Nate and I decided on what to eat. Being a vegetarian, it is often frustrating to go out to eat and find something that has no meat in it. Not only did the Bistro Bus have some ideas that contained no meat, they also offered tofu as a substitute for any chicken or beef on the menu. It was so happy to see this! Betsy took our order while her husband made the food.

The regular menu at the Bistro Bus.

The regular menu at the Bistro Bus.

The specials for the week.

The specials for the week.

I went with the Asian Noodle Salad and Nate chose the BBQ Pulled Pork Grilled Cheese. We both got a side of slaw since this summer we decided to take part in our own little project called the Cole Slaw Chronicles in which we try the cole slaw at any eatery we go to and compare it to the others.

After waiting a very short time, we got our meals in to-go containers. We took them to a spot of grass where we could eat and people watch the customers at the bus. Then we dug in.

Our view from our eating spot. Betsy says sometimes they bring chairs too.

Our view from our eating spot. Betsy said sometimes they bring chairs too.

The Asian Noodle Salad was absolutely delicious. It was so refreshing on such a hot day and had so many flavors at once. They veggies all tasted so fresh and were crispy and the vinaigrette was awesome. My meal was incredible and filling!! I mean, just look at it!

Asian noodle salad

Asian noodle salad

Yummmm

Yummmm

The slaw was, as I often describe things, “WHAT’S UP”. I really cannot describe it. It was DEFINITELY the winner of Nate and I’s Cole Slaw Chronicles. It was tangy, minty, had a kick, SO flavorful. You really just have to try it. It is by far the best tasting cole slaw I’ve ever had. I even brought one home for my mom who was also crazy about it.

Nate loved his meal too. It looked awesome!

BBQ Pulled Pork Grilled Cheese with the Slaw!

BBQ Pulled Pork Grilled Cheese with the Slaw!

IMG_4086

I’m not just saying this because I know and love Betsy, I say it because I mean it: The Bistro Bus is awesome. It’s affordable, delicious, and had tons of healthy options as well as vegetarian options, which can be hard to find. The people in the line seemed to love the food as well, and of course, the awesome customer service. They even take debit! It’s great! Look out for them, they’re doing really well and Betsy tells me they’re having so much fun with it. I’m so glad I put this on my list and was able to check it off.

Nate ordering his meal.

Nate ordering his meal.

Open!

Open!

:*

:*

Nate in front of the Bistro Bus

Nate in front of the Bistro Bus

And here are several other shots with Betsy and I on the right!

IMG_4080

For more information on Bistro Bus:

  • Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bistrobus413
  • Twitter: @Bistrobus413
  • Email: bistrobus413@yahoo.com
  • Phone: 413-374-4090

Nate is on Twitter too!: @natekasper

Read more about it here!:

Related articles

3 thoughts on ““Taking it to the streets”

  1. I have eaten there several times and took my daughter to lunch there today and as always, excellent food and plenty of it!!! Definitely will go again!

Leave a Reply

